what are chakras

What are Chakras?

You’ve probably heard about chakras and the function they play in the flow of energy in your body, especially if you’ve ever attended a yoga or meditation class, had an energy healing treatment, or just viewed some vibey videos on youtube.

You may also have learnt that it is critical to maintain your chakras open, unblocked and balanced. But do you know what chakras actually are and  how can they effect your physical, mental and emotional wellbeing?

While you might have an idea, i thought it be a good idea to spend some time to look at your key 7 Chakras more closely.

What are Chakras?

The word “chakra” means “disk” or “wheel” in Sanskrit, and refers to your body’s energy centers.  These spinning energy wheels or disks relate to certain nerve bundles and the main organs in your body.

In order to feel your best your chakras need to be balanced. If one of them becomes blocked, you may suffer physical, mental or emotional symptoms associated with that relevant chakra.

The 7 main chakras are located along your spine beginning at the base and stretching all the way to the top of your head.

So here I have a rundown of the main 7 Chakras for you:

The root chakra
Muladhara, or the root chakra, is positioned at the base of your spine. It helps you feel grounded and is in charge of your sense of security and stability.

The sacral chakra
Svadhisthana, or the sacral chakra, is placed immediately below your navel. This chakra governs your sexual and creative energies. It is also tied to how you relate to your own and other people’s emotions.

Solar Plexus
The solar plexus chakra, also known as Manipura, is located a couple of inches below your ribcage. It is in charge of your self-esteem and confidence, as well as making you feel in control of your life.

The Heart chakra
The heart chakra, or Anahata, is positioned in the middle of your chest, near your heart. It should come as no surprise that the heart chakra is concerned with your ability to love and be compassionate to yourself and others.

The Throat Chakra
Vishuddha, or throat chakra, is located in your throat. This chakra governs our ability to speak your thruth and express yourself authentically.

The Third Eye
Ajna, or the third eye chakra, is placed between your eyebrows. This chakra is responsible for your intuition. 

The Crown Chakra
The crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara, is positioned on top of your head. Your Sahasrara is your spiritual link to your higher self, your guides and the universe itself. It also governs your life’s purpose.

Lastly before you move on, I have created in guide to the chakras and how to keep them balanced. I am offering this booklet for free in my facebook group. If you are interested join


and grab it for free!

Alternatively you can also join my FREE REIKI COURSE, where I explain the 7 chakras and how to balance them in more detail.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top